Dec 06, 2021  
2020-2021 Undergraduate Catalog 
2020-2021 Undergraduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

English, Humanities, and Philosophy


Jennifer Dawes, Chair (Bea Wood Hall 216)


Professors: Dawes, Johnson
Associate Professors: Fields, Garrison, Giddings, Giles, Henschel, Lodge, Nivens, Schulze
Assistant Professors: Clegg, Coenen, Williams
Instructors: Carroll, Green
Lecturers: Kim, Pope
Professors Emeriti: Barnett, Carpenter, Galbraith, Hoffman, J. Hoggard, L. Hoggard, Olson, Rankin, Rogers, Smith, Whitlock

Teacher Certification in English

For more information see the Education Department  and the Education, English Language Arts and Reading (Grades 4-8) Track, B.S.E. , Secondary Education, English Language Arts and Reading (Grades 7-12) Track, B.S.E. , or English Language Arts and Reading, B.A. with Secondary Certification (Grades 7-12) .

English Department Course Emphases

The following list of undergraduate courses outlines the varying emphases offered by the English Department.  (Please note: some courses are listed under more than one emphasis.)

Freshman English and English Communication Core

Introduction to the Major

Sophomore Literature

Writing Courses

Language and Linguistics Courses

Theoretical Courses

Text in Context

Literature of Diverse Voices

Literary Authors or Themes


Period Early

Period Middle

Period Late

Directed Reading or Research

Senior Capstone

Distinguished Professorship

Perkins-Prothro Distinguished Professorship of English

The Perkins-Prothro Distinguished Professorship of English was established in 2001 by the Perkins-Prothro Foundation to recognize truly outstanding scholarship in the Prothro- Yeager College of Humanities and Social Sciences.


Coordinator: Kirsten Lodge (Bea Wood Hall 217)
Associate Professor: Lodge
Professors Emeriti: L. Hoggard, Olson


Advisor: Nathan Jun (Bea Wood Hall 221)
Professor: Jun
Associate Professor: Schultz

Programs and Courses