Aug 11, 2022  
2021-2022 Undergraduate Catalog 
2021-2022 Undergraduate Catalog

Political Science

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Prothro-Yeager College of Humanities and Social Sciences

Linda Veazey, Chair (O’Donohoe Hall 210)
Professor: Watson
Associate Professors: Duff, Garrison, Veazey
Assistant Professors: Dowd, Lee
Instructor: Morgan
Lecturer: Baggs, Keel
Professors Emeriti: Covert, Martin, Preda

Mission Statement for the Department of Political Science

The mission of the Department of Political Science is to foster student political awareness of local, state, regional, national, and international political processes through its core curriculum courses in American and Texas government; as well as its major, minor, and graduate program curricula. In support of the university’s larger liberal arts mission, the department is committed to high quality instruction, innovative research, and quality service intended to create a learning environment that will broaden students’ political understanding of their place in the global community. The department offers a diverse curriculum that includes a variety of methods of study, topical foci, and instructional approaches designed to develop students’ descriptive, critical, and analytical thinking skills. Through classroom instruction, active learning, study abroad, and both national and state service learning programs, the department seeks to create students with both a strong understanding of the impact of past political events on contemporary society and also a contextual understanding of the challenges and promises of the future.

Programs and Courses




      Political ScienceWomen’s and Gender Studies

      Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Prothro-Yeager College of Humanities and Social Sciences